@Lacey: can we edit the message or make it more obvious/direct? ie. "This will not delete your constituent record with X. If you would like to remove all information we hold about you please contact etc". And make that all bold.
IMO ideally these deletions should sit in a pending state somewhere in web view admin where a DBM can go through and contact the user directly to clarify what they wanted removed. The onus should be on the org to follow through, not the user to have to do it. This extra step for users might be seen as a burden by US privacy law.
If a user unlinks their account by clicking the red Delete button, it will be logged in the User Account Activity log. There is no admin notification currently. The contact info shown in the modal that I screenshotted will show your org's Portal contact. The idea is that the user would then reach out to you to determine how to update their record if they want to be fully removed. Hope this is helpful JoAnn. Please reach out with additional questions.
We added the "Delete account" button as part of compliance with US privacy laws. Clicking the button shows a confirmation modal that explains what happens if you proceed with the delete. If you have feedback on the language used on the button or the modal, feel free to reach out to me at lacey.kruger@blackbaud.com. thank you!
This is very confusing. From a user standpoint I would think this would delete my record in the system. It should state something like delete portal account or something so the user knows it's just the account and not their entire record.
It does need better explanation. We tested it and it doesn't delete a record from your database, or mark it inactive, etc. It deletes their Blackbaud ID account's link to your organization. I don't recall exactly because we tested a few months ago, but it may even have deleted their Blackbaud ID account. But, it has no bearing on the records in your database and makes no changes there. If anything, it's misleading to the user, because it makes it sound like they have control of deleting the information we store on them, when that is not what it does.
I'm curious what it does. Does it automatically delete them and purge their info, does it just mark them inactive, does it put them in a list we can process how we see fit? That is a very concerning button to have there, no ability to hide, and no clear explanation of what it does.
@Lacey: can we edit the message or make it more obvious/direct? ie. "This will not delete your constituent record with X. If you would like to remove all information we hold about you please contact etc". And make that all bold.
IMO ideally these deletions should sit in a pending state somewhere in web view admin where a DBM can go through and contact the user directly to clarify what they wanted removed. The onus should be on the org to follow through, not the user to have to do it. This extra step for users might be seen as a burden by US privacy law.
If a user unlinks their account by clicking the red Delete button, it will be logged in the User Account Activity log. There is no admin notification currently. The contact info shown in the modal that I screenshotted will show your org's Portal contact. The idea is that the user would then reach out to you to determine how to update their record if they want to be fully removed. Hope this is helpful JoAnn. Please reach out with additional questions.
If clicking only deletes link does that meet US privacy law requirements?
I agree, as a university, we do not want to delete a record. Chances are it will get added back in at some point thinking it was missed.
If 'delete' is clicked is there some type of notification to dba this has occurred?
This would allow for privacy coding/consent/exclusion coding to be added to the record.
We added the "Delete account" button as part of compliance with US privacy laws. Clicking the button shows a confirmation modal that explains what happens if you proceed with the delete. If you have feedback on the language used on the button or the modal, feel free to reach out to me at lacey.kruger@blackbaud.com. thank you!
This is very confusing. From a user standpoint I would think this would delete my record in the system. It should state something like delete portal account or something so the user knows it's just the account and not their entire record.
It does need better explanation. We tested it and it doesn't delete a record from your database, or mark it inactive, etc. It deletes their Blackbaud ID account's link to your organization. I don't recall exactly because we tested a few months ago, but it may even have deleted their Blackbaud ID account. But, it has no bearing on the records in your database and makes no changes there. If anything, it's misleading to the user, because it makes it sound like they have control of deleting the information we store on them, when that is not what it does.
I'm curious what it does. Does it automatically delete them and purge their info, does it just mark them inactive, does it put them in a list we can process how we see fit? That is a very concerning button to have there, no ability to hide, and no clear explanation of what it does.
This would be helpful. There should at least be more explanation of what this button does.